Jadavpur University (JU) is located at Kolkata in the state of West Bengal. It is one of the leading universities in India and offers a vast repertoire of courses. The University has two campuses – the main campus at Jadavpur and the new campus at Salt Lake.

Educational Streams
JU offers under-graduate and post-graduate programs in Arts, Engineering and Science. The university conducts adult education programs as well. The Academic Session of the University starts from 1 July to 30 June next for UG section and 1 August to 31 July next for PG section. Admissions are made on the basis of merit and marks obtained in the last qualifying public examination and or the Joint Entrance Examination. The University has some research departments such as Oceanography, Electronics & Telecommunication, Computer Science & Engineering, Architecture, planning Mechanical Engineering, and Electrical Engineering.

Jadavpur University provides all facilities to its students such as separate hostels for both men and women, gymnasium, guest house, health centre, indoor stadium, auditoriums and lecture theatres, centralized computer centre, students’ amenity centre, office of placement and training, employment information bureau, canteens. The University Library is one of the best-equipped libraries in the country and caters the academic and research needs of the faculty, research scholars, students, officers and non-teaching staff.

The Faculty of Engineering & Technology
* Department of Architecture
* Department of Construction Technology
* Department of Electrical Engineering
* Department of Electronics & Tele-Communication Engineering
* Department of Food Technology & Bio-Chemical Engineering
* Department of Instrumentation and Electronics Engineering
* Department of Information Technology
* Department of Mechanical Engineering
* Department of Metallurgical Engineering
* Department of Pharmaceutical Technology
* Department of Power Engineering
* Department of Production Engineering
* Department of Printing Engineering
* Department of Business Management
* Adult Continuing Education and Extension Department
* Department of Chemical Engineering
* Department of Civil Engineering
* Department of Computer Science & Engineering

The Faculty of Arts
* Department of Bengali
* Department of Commerce
* Department of Comparative Literature
* Department of Economics
* Department of English
* Department of Film Studies
* Department of History
* Department of International Relations
* Department of Library & Information Science
* Department of Philosophy
* Department of Physical Education
* Department of Sanskrit

The Faculty of Science
* Department of Chemistry
* Department of Physics
* Department of Mathematics
* Department of Geological Science
* Department of Instrumentation Science
* Department of Life Science and Bio-Technology
* Department of Home Science

Leave a reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.